top of page

Fantasy Art: First Unicorn of Spring

Updated: Apr 8, 2021


Unicorn fantasy painting; digital art
"First Unicorn of Spring" by Laura Hepworth (Rilaiss Art)

"'A symbol of innocence, as pure as the driven snow;

at the coming of the unicorn, the hold of winter must go.'

Elissa knew the poem well, it had long been passed down in her village, but she had never believed the myths of different creatures, creatures that neither she nor anyone that she knew had ever seen, heralding the changing of the seasons. Bedtime stories were all that they were to her, nothing more than fairy tales.

But that all changed on the fourteenth day of the fourth month of her seventeenth year."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Newest painting!! After how well received my bookwyrm dragon painting was, my Mom thought I should do some unicorn painting as so many love them. Personally, unicorns are not my favorite fantasy creature (I much prefer dragons, wyverns, griffins, and basilisks), but (honour thy mother and father) I decided to honour her suggestion.


My first idea for a unicorn painting was, ahem, it wee bit darker, so I started with this painting which is a much more traditional view of the unicorn. However, I'm really looking forward to the completion of the second painting! If you're a lover of dark fairy tales, this painting will be for you!


So, question for everyone, now that you know what some of my favorite fantasy creatures are, which is your favorite? Let me know in the comments and maybe I'll feature them in a future painting or story!


Prints are available on Artstation! I've also started featuring this painting on some fun merch printed on demand via Zazzle! Merchandise includes puzzles, stickers, mousepads, tote bags, and more!


Support my art on Patreon (any tier/pledge level) and you'll get access to the Patron Perks area of this website where you'll find fun, patron-only merchandise featuring my artwork, jewellery, and my books! You'll also get early access to all new artwork, work-in-progress screenshots, and jewellery, plus regular updates on my writing progress!

3 views0 comments
bottom of page