top of page

Fantasy Artwork: Creatures of the Abyss


Fantasy digital painting of a kraken
"Creatures of the Abyss" by Laura Hepworth (Rilaiss Art)

The Abyssal Mountains stretched for miles along the border between Abydell and Khannar and, though all the ways around added days on to your journey, few dared to take the mountain paths for these mountains were unlike any others. They were riddled with pits. Giant, seemingly endless chasms shrouded in mystery, legend, and fear. Avoiding them was treacherous, as the slip of a horse's hooves or the sudden tumbling of crumbling rocks from the peaks above could plumbite you into their depths, but it was not this fear that kept travellers from journeying through the mountains........... it was the creatures that called these chasms 'home'.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


What do you think? Would you like to see this 'seed story' expanded into a larger work?


This painting is a little different for me as I painted it in Photoshop instead of my preferred program, Corel Painter. I've been experimenting with making my own Photoshop brushes, both for my own use as well as to offer them others, and, this week, I was able to release my first set! This painting was a test piece and uses only my own brushes.


Support my art on Patreon (any tier/pledge level) and you'll get access to the Patron Perks area of this website where you'll find fun, patron-only merchandise featuring my artwork, jewellery, and my books! You'll also get early access to all new artwork and jewellery, plus regular updates on my writing progress!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page