top of page

Cyberpunk Art: Jack's Cybernetic Beanstalk



Cyberpunk Jack and the Beanstalk digital painting
"Jack and the Beanstalk" by Laura Hepworth (Rilaiss Art)

I don't know about you, but I love fairy tales and fairy tale retellings!! It's one of the things that's on my 'to write' list. However, while I haven't gotten to write any fairy tale retelling full length novels or novellas yet (though one of my in-progress books is taking on some retelling aspects!), I have brought them into my entries to the writing challenges on Chronicles: Science Fiction & Fantasy Community. There are three different types of writing challenges that they do, a 75 word challenge (monthly), a 100 word anonymous challenge (over two months), and a 300 word challenge (quarterly). So far, the 75 word challenges are the only ones I've entered and how they do them is that the winner of the last challenge chooses the genre and theme for the next one and once they're closed for new entries, a poll is taken as to which story everyone liked the best.


The theme and genre for the June 2019 75 word challenge was Cyberpunk and noise. My story went in a Jack and the Beanstalk direction and I've been wanting to make a painting to go along with it. And I finally did! I've had the idea for a while, but there have been so many interruptions and I wasn't really sure where to actually start with it. However, the Dark'N'Dusty illustration I painted for my brother really helped a lot with painting the beanstalk. Interestingly, the hardest part of this painting wasn't the beanstalk itself but the background!


Anyway, I hope you like it and, if you'd like to read the story entry, it can be read on Patreon (public post). Prints are available on ArtStation (dimensions have been changed slightly to fit their print sizes)


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page