top of page

Book Resurrection and Other Writing Updates!

Hi, all! Sorry for not updating in a while! Anyways, I just wanted to give you a quick update on how the writing is going.


First off, the resurrection of book two of The Gemquist Chronicles continues! It's now approaching 40k total word count, which means, I'm managed to rewrite a little of 1/3 of what I lost (nearly 115k word count). Writing momentum is still touch-and-go as I try to re-navigate my storyline, but I remain hopeful that I will have made huge progress by the end of the year. In fact, once my jewellery shows are over for this summer, I plan to really hit the writing (and digital art) hard with the aim of finishing the book resurrection by either the end of the year or early next to have it ready for release next summer! No promises that that will happen (you know what they say about the best laid plans), but, that is still my hope and prayer. If I can regain my old writing momentum from before the laptop gremlins struck, that should be a very doable goal as I'd been writing 10k+ words a week at the time.


Okay, moving on, my WIP urban fantasy, An Inkling of Magic, is still progressing nicely! So far, I've shared five chapter drafts on Patreon and the next installment posts on Monday for patrons to read. The chapters are all drafts (though I do my best to write fairly clean drafts, however, some grammatical or typographical aberrations may still remain) and are posted in the first week of each month. They're all early-access posts so patrons get three weeks advance to reading them before the switch to public and non-patrons can enjoy them also. Here're the links to what's been written so far:


Once completed, I plan to compile all the drafts for a good edit and prettying up so the final version that will get released on Amazon may deviate slightly from the chapters shared. I also plan to share the public chapter drafts on Royal Road once I reach a certain backlog of chapters.


My Cinderella retelling that I started back in mid-May is also coming along well! It's now caught up to my urban fantasy in numbers of chapters written and is about to pass it! Again, just like with An Inkling of Magic, all chapters shared from From the Ashes are still in draft form. These chapters, however, are all patron-only until I reach a certain backlog of chapters and number of chapters shared for patrons. Once that goal is met though, I will start sharing the drafts publicly on Royal Road. Also like with An Inkling of Magic, chapters come out once a month on Patreon, but, instead of the first week, they're shared in the third week of the month. Here're the links to what's been shared:


I'm also still working on more artwork to do with An Inkling of Magic, but it's on hold until my shows are over with for the summer. I have a character portrait ready to share with you, but it's part of a set and I still need to finish (well, start actually if I'm being honest) the second portrait as I wanted to share them together.


So, that's where everything's at right now!


If you'd like to read all the chapter drafts as they are shared for both of my two Patreon stories, become a patron! You can choose any tier or make a custom pledge and get access to all my patron-only content! If you don't like Patreon, but would still like to support my writing and get those early chapters, they are also available to supporters on Subscribe Star and Buy Me a Coffee.

Recent Posts

See All

Book 2 Progress Update!

It's been slow up to this point, but I wanted to give everyone an update on how the recovery of book two of The Gemquist Chronicles is going

bottom of page