top of page

New Digital Art! - Tome Raider: Treasure Greater Than Gold


Dragon in abandoned library digital painting fantasy art
"Tome Raider: Treasure Greater Than Gold"; Laura Hepworth/Rilaiss Art

It's finally finished!! I started fantasy painting this in late December of 2018, but had to set it aside when I got stuck on the dragon's wings. Well, with trying to post more often and more consistently on Patreon, I set myself some goals for the month of October and, one of them, was to finish at least one of the two digital paintings I'd started which had both stalled. So, after confusing myself with lots of research into other artworks with dragons to see how most rendered the wings (it was particularly the position of the wing that was giving me trouble), I eventually just went 'phewy, I'm just going to do this my way.' And, at long last, it's now finished! I really had to stretch myself with this one as, despite my huge love of fantasy, I've actually never painted or drawn a dragon before! (Hence, my getting stuck for so long.)


It's in part inspired by the many illustrations I've seen of Smaug from Tolkien's The Hobbit as he's curled up asleep on his hoard of stolen gold Only my dragon is a lover of books rather than gold and jewels. I've long loved the term 'bookworm,' and thought it would be a funny play on words to, instead, paint a 'bookwyrm.'


I've titled this piece, with the help of my family giving their suggestions, "Tome Raider: Treasure Greater Than Gold." Prints are available through my ArtStation account for any interested, and there is also some really fun merch in the Patron Perks of this website available to anyone that would like to support my art (and writing!) by becoming a patron on Patreon. Also, if you visit my Patreon 'Art Share' post for this piece, you'll find an extra bonus! I wrote what I call a 'story seed' to go along with it and would love to hear what you think of it and, whether or not, I should use it for a more full length novel or novella!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page